Seelonce FINI

Headshot, literally

Look! No hair!

Somehow, and I haven’t quite figured it out yet, it stopped being 2012 and started being 2013. AND THEN! To add insult to injury, it stopped being January and started being February. I dunno, guys. I’m pretty sure there’s some kind of dark magic going on here.

But I haven’t been idle.

In addition to chopping all my hair off (for the first time ever; it’s BRILLIANT), deciding to test out vegetarianism (word is still out on how I feel about it), and recommitting myself to the sparkle motion of sensible household budgets, I’ve also started the long slow training journey to my 2013 A race, Rev3 Williamsburg 70.3. And by long and slow, I mean moderately short and really fucking slow.

After trying and failing to find a coach that I wanted to work with, I thought hard about my training plan options and decided to (once again) try to figure it out for myself. Only this time I wasn’t just going to cobble something together from other people’s plans and hope for the best; this time I was going to try to really understand why I was structuring my workouts in certain ways, have concrete goals for each training cycle, and an overall plan with progression and stuff that goes with it. After all, I thought to myself, thousands of folks get certified to be triathlon coaches; this cannot be rocket science.

And so far…dare I say, it has gone ok. After reading all the things I could get about how to set up your own training plan (there is less on this topic beyond Joe Friel than I’d hoped), I busted out a blank excel and started organizing. I think this is where I went wrong in the past. I always used someone else’s template before but that didn’t allow me to work through all the bits that I needed to and I always felt like I was missing something important. The resulting spreadsheet is multi-tabbed beast and there is still a significant amount of work to be done on the individual workout level, but on the whole I’m feeling pretty good about where I’m going and how I’m getting there.

Screen cap of my excel spreadsheet

I like to think of this as the overview of the madness. Other tabs provide madness on a more weekly scale.

As threatened back in December, strength training is stepping into greater focus this year. I’m trying to hit the weights 2x per week. After some angsting about gyms, I decided that I could buy weights for my house for the cost of a month’s membership. I don’t quite have everything set up the way I want yet, but I’m definitely enjoying the fact that I can randomly lift weights at 11 o’clock at night. I’m also getting down with a yoga class once a week, which is painfully slow but still beneficial.

I still miss workouts. I can’t for the life of me get up in the morning and go do a workout before work. This makes double workout days down right impossible on anything but a weekend.

But it’s all working, I think. I’m getting into a groove and slowly getting a bit sturdier. Hopefully I’ll continuing building without injury or burn out or whatever else I convince myself requires taking time off and will toe Williamsburg in good shape. Because this year is all about getting to back to a point where triathlon hurts only in the good ways and in none of the bad ones.

Training ahoy!

2 responses to “Seelonce FINI

  1. Great post! You’ve gotten much farther than me with the Training Bible! I actually just bought membership in Beginner Triathlete so I have access to their plans, but none of them really work for me…anyway, it looks like you’re off to a great start this year, keep it up 🙂

    • Thanks! I’m still not 100% revved up (I still miss workouts & can’t seem to figure out how not to do that), but it’s a good start.

      What have you ended up doing since BT didn’t work out for you? Are you going to hire someone or try a different plan? Since starting to DIY my training plan I’ve become obsessed with finding out how other people manage theirs.

Leave a Reply

